Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat

Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat Bahamas

Yoga Teacher Training on Paradise Island

Today I’m sharing some old photos from my yoga teacher training at the Sivananda Ashram on Paradise Island. People often ask me where I did my training and when I say the Bahamas, I think they imagine something quite different from the Sivananda Ashram. This small plot of land was gifted to Swami Vishnudevananda and turned into an ashram and yoga retreat center where people could come to study yoga honoring the lineage of Swami Sivananda, learn about Vedanta and Ayurveda, eat healthy vegetarian food, and take a break from busy, over-stimulated lifestyles.

 

Some of my favorite things about this ashram/retreat center include:

  • twice daily community meals prepared by ashram staff and guests (yes, they will teach you how to cook!)
  • outdoor yoga platforms (all classes are held in spaces without walls…you don’t realize the impact of this until you return home to practicing in studios)
  • morning and evening satsang with kirtan and meditation (where I learned for the first time how to truly sit, for real)

 

I have not been back since my training, but I know I will return someday! In the meantime, I will continue to visit the Sivananda Yoga Vedanta Center in New York City, where I go a few times a year to refresh, chant, relax, and collect new inspiration for my classes.

Have you been to a Sivananda ashram or center? Leave a comment below. I’d love to know!

Leave a Reply

